Board Meeting, 28 January 2008


Present: Andrew Wertheimer, Rae Shiraki, Susan Shaner, Matthew Yim, Barbara Dunn, Maja Clark

Additional Attendees: Whitney Ross


Andrew called the meeting to order at 5:05 p.m. No agenda distributed, but agreed focus of the meeting was to further plan the annual conference. Minutes of the December 8 meeting and treasurerÕs report(s) were not distributed.


AHA Board Elections

Barbara Dunn reported the nominating committeeÕs selections:

President-elect: Maja Clark (Martha Hoverson to finish MajaÕs remaining term)

Directors: Whitney Ross, HSA; Stu Dawrs, Pacific Collection, Hamilton Library, UH Mānoa; and Stuart Ching, Iolani Palace (replacing outgoing directors Laura Gerwitz, Barbara Dunn and Judith Kearney)

Secretary: Maja Clark to continue.

Treasurer: Rae Shiraki to replace Laura Gerwitz. Signature cards transfer required.

Andrew Wertheimer to continue as webmaster and past-President advisor. Outgoing president to transfer records to BYU archive.



Election notification to members: electronically (need to update e-list) & mail (allowing opportunity for those not attending annual conference to send in votes); mailing to include e-mail update request.


AHA Annual Conference, Saturday, March 21, 2009

Registration deadline: March 6; Drew to send save-the-date message to e-list.

Fee: $40 ($30 student), includes lunch. Costs factored include lunch, tax and tip at approx. $24 per person and cost of mailing. Menu will include 2 choices, head count required 48 hours in advance.

Membership fee remains same at $15.



8:30 - 9:00 a.m. registration at HSA front desk; Coffee & malasadas at HSA staff break room; cups to be provided for water fountain

9:00 – 10:00 a.m. Kippen Chu, chairman, 50th Anniversary of Statehood commission on associated activities and events – Presentation title to be announced.

10:00 – 10:15 a.m. Break (student poster sessions, if any)

10:15 – 11:00 a.m. Maja Clark on meeting institutional and student needs - matchmaking in lean times. May incorporate survey distributed at last yearÕs conference. Title TBA.

11:00 – 11:15 a.m. Break (student poster sessions, if any)

11:15 – 12:00 p.m. Whitney Ross, ÒItÕs a Work in Progress: New Open Source Catalog for HSAÓ

12 – 1:30 p.m. – lunch at HISAM

1:30 – 1:45 p.m. – AHA business meeting

1:45 – 2:30 p.m. - Matthew Yim and LIS student Kim Okahara, ÒMaking Assets: Digitization Projects Be Working Backwards to Move ForwardÓ



-       Andrew to encourage students to participate in poster sessions.

-       Maja to provide Drew with presentation title

-       Susan to obtain coffee & malasadas

-       Whitney to cover desk at registration & coordinate lunch order


Agnes C. Conrad Award

Nomination of Helen Wong-Smith approved. Barbara Dunn to ask Ellen Chapman to frame plaque. Award to be given at business meeting. HelenÕs attendance at conference to be confirmed.


SHRAB Grant Application – HSA seeking partners

Susan Shaner proposed a partnership with HSA to apply for a State Historical Records Advisory Board (SHRAB) grant. AHA Board agreed to partner with HSA. Funding would be used to send archivists to neighbor islands to provide 1-day training workshops. Grant deadline is in June. Materials to be digitized would focus on HawaiØi history. UH LIS Program may be a potential partner to host website of digitized materials.


Meeting adjourned at 5:50 p.m.


Respectfully submitted,
Maja Clark, Secretary

Next Meeting: Saturday, March 21, 2009, 2:30 pm, HSA.