ICS 621 Analysis of Algorithms (Fall 2015 CRN 79405)

General Information

Topics

Grading (Tentative)

Class participation grades will be based on presentation of homework problems.

Homework Assignments will be assigned on the Thursday every 2 weeks and are due on the Thursday 2 weeks later at 2359 hours in hardcopy AND in Laulima. The homework assignments must be typeset in LaTeX with the homework number and your name displayed clearly on the front page. Please use one of the algorithms latex package (see wikibook) to typeset pseudocode (algorithmic.sty is recommended).

Class Schedule (tentative)

Week Date Topic Readings Videos Exercises
1 Tue Aug 25 Course Organization Ch 1. Asymptotics
Problem 2-3.
1 Thu Aug 27 Sorting Ch 2-4 SelectionSort
InsertionSort
MergeSort
Reccurences
Problem 2-2. Problem 2-4. hw01 (pdf). (tex).
2 Tue Sep 1 No class  
2 Thu Sep 3 No class  
3 Tue Sep 8 Sorting Ch 6 Heaps
Heapsort
Problem 6-3.
3 Thu Sep 10 Sorting Ch 7 Quicksort
Worst Case Analysis
Average Case Analysis
Problems 7-5. Problem 7-6.
4 Tue Sep 15 Sorting Ch 8 Lower Bounds
Counting Sort
Radix Sort
Bucket Sort
Problem 8-3.
4 Thu Sep 17 Order Statistics & Binary Search Trees Ch 9,12 Order Stats 1 Min Max
Order Stats 2 Median of Medians
Order Stats 3 Quicksort
Binary Search Trees
Problem 9-1. Problem 12-3. hw02 (pdf). (tex).
5 Tue Sep 22 Red-black Trees & Interval Trees Ch 13,14 Red Black Trees
Order Statistics Red Black Trees
Interval Trees
Problem 14-2.
5 Thu Sep 24 Amortized Analysis Ch 17 Amortized A. - Agg. Mtd
Amortized A. - Binary Cnt. Eg.
Amortized A. - Acc. Mtd
Amortized A. - Pot. Mtd
Amortized A. - Dyn. Tables
Problem 17-1.
6 Tue Sep 29 Amortized Analysis Ch 17 Problem 17-2.
6 Thu Oct 1 Binomial Heaps Ch 19 in 2nd ed (pdf) Binomial Heaps 1
Binomial Heaps 2
Binomial Heaps 3
Notes (pdf).
Problem (2e) 19-1.
7 Tue Oct 6 Fibonacci Heaps Ch 19 Fibonacci Heaps 1
Fibonacci Heaps 2
Fibonacci Heaps 3
Fibonacci Heaps 4
Fibonacci Heaps 5
Problem 19-1.
7 Thu Oct 8 Fibonacci Heaps Ch 19 Problem 19-3.
8 Tue Oct 13 B Trees, B+ Trees, Parallel Disk Model Ch 18, Vitter's IO Book (pdf) Ch. 1,2. External Sorting
8 Thu Oct 15 Midterm Exam
9 Tue Oct 20 Post Midterm Debrief Project Proposals due!
9 Thu Oct 22 Dynamic Programming Ch 15 Dynamic Programming 1
Dynamic Programming 2
Dynamic Programming 3
Problem 15-2
10 Tue Oct 27 Proposal Presentation  
10 Thu Oct 29 Greedy Algorithms Ch 16 Greedy Algo 1
Greedy Algo 2
Greedy Algo 3
Problem 16-1. hw03 (pdf).(tex).
11 Tue Nov 3 Hashing Ch 11 Hashing 1
Hashing 2
Hashing 3
Hashing 4
Hashing 5
Problem 11-1.
11 Thu Nov 5 Graph Algo:BFS,DFS,SCC,MST Ch 22-23 BFS
DFS
SCC
MST
Problem 22-2.
12 Tue Nov 10 Graph Algo:SSSP,APSP Ch 24-25 Bellman Ford
Dijkstra
Constraints
All Pairs Shortest Path
Floyd Warshall Johnson
Problem 22-2.
12 Thu Nov 12 NP-Completeness Ch 34 Decision Problems
Encoding
Languages
NP
NPC
 
13 Tue Nov 17 NP-Completeness Ch 34 DTM
NTM
SAT to 3SAT
Cook's Theorem.
13 Thu Nov 19 NP-Completeness Ch 34 SAT to 3SAT proof
3SAT to VC
3SAT to VC Proof
 
14 Tue Nov 24 NP-Completeness Ch 34 Problem 34-2.
14 Thu Nov 26 Thanksgiving Holiday  
15 Tue Dec 1 Guest Lecture by Nodari  
15 Thu Dec 3 Approximation Algo Ch 35 Approx Algo VC
Approx Algo 3SAT
Problem 35-1
16 Tue Dec 8 Project Presentations  
16 Thu Dec 10 Project Presentations  

Other Readings

Useful Links