ICS 321 Data Storage and Retrieval (Spring 2012)

General Information

Topics

Grading (Tentative)

Class Schedule (tentative)

Week Date Topic Readings Remarks
1 Mon Jan 9 Course Organization   slides (pdf)
1 Wed Jan 11 The Worlds of Database Systems Ch 1. slides (pdf). Exercise 1 (pdf). Bring laptops. Setup JDK. Download Assignment 1
2 Mon Jan 16 MLK Holiday   Quiz 1 due. Assignment 1 submission 1 2355h.
2 Wed Jan 18 The Relational Model of Data Ch 2.{1-3} slides (pdf). Exercise 2 (pdf).
3 Mon Jan 23 The Relational Model of Data Ch 2.{4-5} Quiz 2 due. Assignment 1 submission 2. slides (pdf). Exercise 3.
3 Wed Jan 25 Design Theory for Relational Databases Ch 3.{1-2} Exercise 4 (pdf). slides (pdf).
4 Mon Jan 30 Design Theory for Relational Databases Ch 3.{3,5} Quiz 3 due. Assignment 1 submission 3. slides (pdf). Exercise 5 (pdf).
4 Wed Feb 1 Design Theory for Relational Databases Ch3.4 slides (pdf). Exercise 6 (pdf).
5 Mon Feb 6 High-Level Database Models Ch 4. Quiz 4 due. Assignment 1 Final Submission. slides (pdf). Exercise 7 (pdf).
5 Wed Feb 8 Algebraic and Logical Query Languages Ch 5. slides (pdf). Exercise 8 (pdf).
6 Mon Feb 13 Algebraic and Logical Query Languages Ch 5. Quiz 5 due. slides (pdf). Exercise 9 (pdf).
6 Wed Feb 15 The Database Language SQL Ch 6. slides (pdf). Exercise 10 (pdf).
7 Mon Feb 20 President's Day Holiday   Quiz 6 due. Assignment 2 due on Tue Feb 21 2355h.
7 Wed Feb 22 Pre-Midterm Review    
8 Mon Feb 27 Midterm Exam  
8 Wed Feb 29 The Database Language SQL Ch 6. slides (pdf).
9 Mon Mar 5 The Database Language SQL Ch 6. Quiz 7 due. Project Proposals due. slides (pdf).Exercise 13 (pdf). data (zip).
9 Wed Mar 7 Overview of Transaction Processing Ch 18.{0-2}, Ch 17.1. slides (pdf). Exercise 14 (pdf).
10 Mon Mar 12 Overview of Transaction Processing Ch 18.{0-2}, Ch 17.1. Quiz 8 due. slides (pdf). Exercise 15 (pdf).
10 Wed Mar 14 SQL in a Server Environment Ch 9. slides (pdf). sqc (zip).
11 Mon Mar 19 SQL in a Server Environment Ch 9. Quiz 9 due. slides (pdf). Exercise 16 (pdf). odbc (zip). jdbc (zip).
11 Wed Mar 21 Constraints, Triggers, Views and Indexes Ch 7., Ch 8 slides (pdf). Exercise 17 (pdf).
12 Mon Mar 26 Spring Break  
12 Wed Mar 28 Spring Break    
13 Mon Apr 2 Overview of Storage and Indexing Ch 13.{0-2}, Ch 14.{0-2}. Quiz 9 due. slides (pdf). Exercise 18 (pdf).
13 Wed Apr 4 Overview of Storage and Indexing Ch 13.{0-2}, Ch 14.{0-2}. slides (pdf). Exercise 19 (pdf). Project progress report due Fri April 6.
14 Mon Apr 9 Overview of Query Processing Ch 16.1, Ch 15.{0-3}. Quiz 10 due. slides (pdf). Exercise 20 (pdf). Assignment 3 due.
14 Wed Apr 11 Overview of Query Processing Ch 16.1, Ch 15.{0-3}. Exercise 21 (pdf).
15 Mon Apr 16 The Semi-structured Data Model & Programming Languages for XML Ch 11.,Ch 12. Quiz 11 due. slides (pdf).
15 Wed Apr 18 Special Topics   slides (pdf).
16 Mon Apr 23 Special Topics   Quiz 12 due. slides (pdf).
16 Wed Apr 25 Project Presentation    
17 Mon Apr 30 Project Presentation    
17 Wed May 2 Final Exam Review    

Software Setup

Other Readings

Videos

Useful Links