UHM Faculty Senate

I served as a Senator to the Mānoa Faculty Senate representing Library Services from May 2007 through July 2011. I served as Chair of the Faculty Service Committee from May 2007 to July 2009 and as its webmaster from July 2009 to July 2011.

At the request of the MFS Senate Executive Committee (SEC) in the Summer of 2011, I served on the Ad-Hoc Election Review Committee with Judith Inazu and David Ross to review and audit the 2011 SEC elections.

LIS Alumni Group Executive Board

The LIS Alumni Group is an active alumni association that all students automatically become members upon graduation. The LIS Alumni Group publishes a semi-annual newsletter, maintains a continuing education program, an electronic listserv (mailing list), provides scholarships for students and continuing education awards for working librarians, sponsors reunions and other social activities, and endeavors to promote the general welfare and professional growth of all LIS graduates. To see what LIS alumni are doing, visit the Alumni Blog. I serve as its Vice President.

Hawai‘i Library Association

The Hawai‘i Library Association is a non-profit organization comprised of librarians, libraries and institutions interested in library service and librarianship in Hawai‘i. HLA is the official state chapter of the American Library Association.

  • Past-President, term 2006-2007
  • President, term 2005-2006
  • Vice President, President-Elect, term 2004-2005
  • Secretary, term 2002-2004
  • Audiovisual Manager, HLA Annual Conference, 1999-2006
  • Member, Constitution & Bylaws Committee, 2002
  • Member, 1991-present

Hawai‘i Public Radio

Volunteer supervisor during semi-annual pledge drives. Hawaii Public Radio can be found at http://www.hawaiipublicradio.org/.